Hill Forts of Rajasthan

Tag : Cultural UNESCO World Heritage Site

Built In : 18th and 19th centuries

Year of Inscription : 2012

Reasons for Inscription : Criteria number (2) and (3). The hill forts of Rajasthan are a wonderful example of the beautiful Rajputana architecture from the early medieval to late medieval period. The forts are also an excellent testimony to the valor, bravery and cultural traditions of the Rajputs.

The six forts of Rajasthan - Amber, Chittorgarh, Gangron, Jaisalmer, Kumbhalgarh and Ranthambore are UNESCO world heritage sites that fascinate the tourists with their amazing architecture and history of brave Rajput rulers.

Category : Secular structure, military / fortifications.

Hill Forts of Rajasthan – An Overview

The six forts of Rajasthan situated on the rocky terrains of the majestic Aravali Mountains bears testimony to the princely states of the Rajputs dating back to the 8th-19th centuries. The six forts include Chittaurgarh, Kumbhalgarh, Ranthambore, Jaisalmer, Amber and Gagron in the districts of Chittaurgarh, Rajsamand, Sawai Madhopur, Jaisalmer, Jaipur and Jhalawar respectively. These forts have been constructed between 18th and 19th centuries and contain huge water harvesting structures or pools that are still used today.

The stunning art works and decorations of these forts captivate the attention of the tourists. The forts take back the tourists to the bygone era of the Rajputana rulers and give an insight about their grandeur and lifestyle. The rugged exteriors and breathtaking interiors of showcase the magnificent craftsmanship and glory of yesteryears.

Popular Heritage Travel Destinations in India