The Hill Palace is Kerala's first heritage museum located at Thripunithura in Ernakulam district. It has a huge collection of the former Maharaja of Kochi. At present, this official residence of the royal family has become one of the state's largest archaeological museums. Built in the year 1865, there are 49 buildings in the complex which are designed in the Kerala's architectural style. Spread over 52 acres of land, the complex is beautifully landscaped and houses a deer park and horse riding facilities. The complex of museum is a home to various rare species of medical plants. At present, this museum is protected by the Kerala State Archaeology Department.
The Hill Palace was handed over to the State Government (Kerala) by the Cochin Royal Family. Then in the year 1980, the palace was forked over to the Department of Archaeology and later it converted into a Museum and opened to the public in the year 1986.
There are around 200 antiques of ceramic vases and pottery from China and Japan, Kudakkallu (tomb stone), menhirs, granite, laterite memorials, rock-cut weapons from the Stone Age, wooden temple models, plaster cast models of objects from Mohenjodaro and Harappa of the Indus Valley Civilization. The museum also showcases oil-paintings, sculptures, murals, coins, inscriptions, property of the Kochi royal family, and furniture of royal period.
Best Time to Visit:
10:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM.