Mountains in Uttarakhand

Fusing more radiance to the motherland and the Northern Part of India in every sense is the state of Uttarakhand. The state undeniably stands proud because of its mighty mountains that are considered some of the highest one in India. Starting with an elevation over 3000 m and ranging up to 7500 m there are so many peaks in Uttarakhand that are unknown and unexplored but still settled in a traveller's heart.

These mountains stretch over the whole land of Uttarakhand making it look more stunning and mesmerizing and they serve as the sole reason that people love travelling to this state in India. And once in Uttarakhand, it is a must to trek your way from one peak to the other and take back experiences of a lifetime.

Famous Mountain Peaks in Uttarakhand

  • Nanda Devi East

    Known as the "Bliss-Giving Goddess" of the Garhwal Himalayas are the twin peaks of Goddess Nanda which forms a 2 km long ridge. Nanda Devi finds its place between the Goriganga Valley on the east and Rishi Ganga Valley on its west. Moreover, it is considered the second highest mountain in India reason being its soaring height of 7816 m.

  • Trishul

    Clutching onto the north and south, Trishul is a cluster of three massive peaks namely Trishul I, II and III as they resemble Trident, the weapon of Lord Shiva. These mountains are settled in west Kumaon and the tallest peak top is 7120 m high where they sculpt the southwest corner of the loop of the peaks encircling the Nanda Devi Sanctuary.

  • Chaukhamba

    Accompanied with three mountains settled in the Gangotri Group of Garhwal region are the Chaukhamba peaks. Set at an elevation of 7138 m 7070 m, 6995 m and 6854 m respectively, these peaks rest at the fore of the Gangotri glacier and structures the eastern part of the group.

  • Shivling

    Boasting its name for being a holy symbol of Shiva Linga, this mountain is a part of the Gangotri group settled at Tapovan. It is set at an elevation of 6543 m above the sea and is one of the most sought-after climbs in Uttarakhand.

  • Swargarohini

    Set up in the Saraswati range of Garhwal, is the Swargarohini alp of the Uttarkashi District. These peaks are classified as four different ones, where the Swargarohini I is the major one. Besides, the peak is a source of river tons and is settled at an elevation of 6252 m above the sea level.

  • Bhagirathi Peak

    Thriving high in the Garhwal Himalayas are the mighty triplets namely Bhagirathi I, Bhagirathi II and Bhagirathi III.These peaks stand tall at the height of 6856 m, 6512 m and 6454 m as per the order where the highest one forms a composite massif.

  • Neelkanth Peak

    Advancing 3474 m above the magnifying and sacred site of Badrinath, Nilkanth is one of the eminent peaks making its mark in the Garhwal region, Uttarakhand. The peak ascends over the valley of Alaknanda river and even though it's lower as compared to the highest peaks it is set an elevation of 6595 m above the sea level.

  • Gaumukh

    This treasured glacier is the source of the Hindu sacred river Ganga and lies 18 km away from the Gangotri glacier. Gaumukh stands tall at an elevation of 4023 m in the blessed district of Uttarkashi. Besides, this glacier is the source of the Bhagirathi river as well which conjoins with river Alaknanda to form Ganga at Devprayag from where it flows and sweeps into the Bay of Bengal.

  • Kedarnath Peak

    This duo of Gangotri group of peaks snuggle up in the Garhwal Himalaya in Uttarakhand , where the main Kedarnath, the highest peak in the south is settled on the main ridge that lies on the southern end of the Gangotri Glacier whereas the Kedarnath dome, the third highest peak lies two km northeast of the main one.

Uttarakhand Travel Information at a Glance