Dwarkadhish Temple Rajkot, Gujarat

Dwarkadhish Temple Rajkot, Gujarat

Dwarkadhish Temple Rajkot

One of the most visited Hindu pilgrimage temples in India, Dwarkadheesh Jagat Mandir, is considered as one of the four Dham (divine abodes) in India.' The literal of Dwarka signifies 'Gate to Liberation'- 'Dwara' meaning door and 'ka' implying eternal happiness. The penetrated Dwarkadheesh temple nestles between the ocean coast and the town of Dwarka.

Mythology Mythology and significance of Jagat Mandir is sacred to Lord Krishna, who is the eighth incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Legend has it that Lord Krishna shifted his capital from Mathura to Dwarka because 9KamsaJarasandha, who wanted to avenge the death of his son in law (Kamsa), repeatedly attacked Mathura. During the 18th attempt by Jarasandha, Krishna chose to leave Mathura with the Yadav dynasty. Dwarka, as a site for the capital, was chosen by Garuda, the divine eagle, to bring Krishna when he departed from Mathura. Krishna then besieged Vishvakarma to help him build his new capital. Vishvakarma agreed to help only on one condition that Samudradev, the god of the sea, should provide the land. Krishna then offered prayers to Samudradev and was blessed with a land that measures 12 yojanas (773 sq km). He then founded his kingdom in Dwarka and stayed there for the rest of his life.

Architecture: As per the mythology facts, the original Jagat Mandir dedicated to Ranchhodraiji was constructed by the great grandson of Lord Krishna, Vajranabhji. Later, it was reconstructed several times following deluges and attacks by invaders. The present structure of the temple was constructed in the 15th-16th century in Chalukya style architecture. Built of soft limestone and granite, Jagat Mandir features a vestibule, sanctum and a rectangular hall with porches on three sides. The temple has two entrances - "Moksha Dwara" (Door to Salvation) towards the North and "Swarga Dwara" (Gate to Heaven) on its North. The main temple included four sections- Vimangrih, Bhadrapeeth, Ladva Mandap and Arth Mandap. From plinth to walls to columns, every corner of the temple is profusely carved with panels of elephants, dancers, celestial being and musicians. Situated a short distance to its east is small lavishly carved Rukmini Temple. Built in the 12th century, the temple is dedicated to Krishna's wife.

Following are the main architectural features of Temple:

  • Dwarkadhish is a seven storey temple, supported on seventy-two pillars.
  • Dhwaja, the temple flag, spans 84 feet high and is hosted on top of a pillar that is 20 feet high. It bears the emblem of the sun and the moon and can be seen in the various combination of pink, red, saffron, yellow, white, blue and green. Colours of the flags are chosen as per the different days of the week and each stands for a specific spiritual quality.
  • Two entrances will lead tourists to the temple. Main entrance towards the north is called "Moksha Dwara" (Door to Salvation), this door takes one to the main market. Another gate towards the South is called "Swarga Dwara" (Gate to Heaven).
  • Spire of the temple is 78.3 m high.

How to Reach:

By Roadways: Tourists can easily get Gujarat Roadways buses to reach Dwarka from Jamnagar.

By Railways: Nearest railways stations are in Jamnagar (137 km), Rajkot (217 km) and Ahmedabad (471 km).

By Airways: Nearest airport is Jamnagar (137 km).

See below for temple time table:

Time Table of Dwarkadhish Temple
07:00 AM Mangla Arti
7.00 AM to 8.00 AM Mangla Darshan
8.00 AM to 9.00 AM Abhishek Pooja (Snan vidhi) : Darshan closed
9.00 AM to 9.30 AM Shringar Darshan
9.30 AM to 9.45 AM Snanbhog : Darshan closed
9.45 AM to 10.15 AM Shringar Darshan
10:15 AM to 10.30 AM Snanbhog : Darshan closed
10.30 AM to 10.45 AM Shringar Arti
11.05 AM to 11.20 AM Gwal Bhog Darshan closed
11.20 AM to 12.00 Noon Darshan
12.00 Noon to 12.20 PM Rajbhog : Darshan closed
12.20 PM to 12.30 PM Darshan
12.30 PM Anosar : Darshan closed
05:00 PM Uthappan First Darshan
5.30 to 5.45 PM Uthappan Bhog Darshan closed
5.45 to 7.15 PM Darshan
7.15 to 7.30 PM Sandhya Bhog Darshan closed
7.30 to 7.45 PM Sandhya Arti
8.00 to 8.10 PM Shayanbhog Darshan closed
8.10 to 8.30 PM Darshan
8.30 to 8.35 PM Shayan Arti
8.35 to 9.00 Darshan