Travel Tips

Tourists from 31 More Countries to Benefit from E-Tourist Visa

E-Tourist Visa

Easing entry norms into the country, India has extended e-tourist visas to 31 more countries, which will benefit citizens from countries like France, Canada, Chile, the Bahamas, Cayman Island, Georgia, and Macedonia.

The facility will become operational by June 15; seven more airports –where tourists can avail themselves of the facility– have also been commissioned. These airports where the facility will now be available are Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow, Trichy, Varanashi, and Ahmedabad.

The e-tourist visa scheme, which was launched last year in November, currently covers 45 countries and is serviced at nine designated airports in India. With the latest announcements, the number of countries would go up to 76, while the total number of airports where the service can be availed would reach 16.

The government intends to extend the facility to more countries in coming times, which will be done in a phased manner, government officials informed.

In fact, the Modi-led government at the center, by the end of the fiscal year, plans to bring 150 countries under the scheme. This was reflected in the Union Budget 2015-16 presented Arun Jaitley.

Now e-Tourist Visa Facility is available for following countries passport holders:

Anguilla Antigua & Barbuda Australia Bahamas Barbados
Belize Brazil Cambodia Canada Cayman Island
Cook Islands Costa Rica Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador Estonia Fiji Finland
France Georgia Germany Grenada Guyana
Haiti Honduras Indonesia Israel Japan
Jordan Kenya Kiribati Laos Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Marshall Islands Mauritius
Mexico Micronesia Montenegro Montserrat Myanmar
Nauru New Zealand Nicaragua Niue Island Norway
Oman Palau Palestine Papua New Guinea Paraguay
Philippines Republic of Korea Republic of Macedonia Russia Saint Christopher and Nevis
Samoa Singapore Solomon Islands Sri Lanka Thailand
Tonga Tuvalu UAE Ukraine USA
Vanuatu Vatican City-Holy See Vietnam    

For more information visit Indian Government Online Visa Website

You may be also interested in:

Last Updated: August 27, 2019
Published: 02 May, 2015
Tour My India


Tour My India is among the top notch online travel organizations, which has been recognized by the Department of Tourism, Government of India. Owing to its rich experience in the travel domain, it has earned specialization in offering all types of tours. Right from an excursion on the rugged terrain of hilly areas, to pilgrimage on holy places, Tour My India has quality experience and expertise in making all the arrangements for a safe and memorable trip.

LET'S PLAN YOUR TRIPLet us Plan Your Trip